It Is Not My Place

Oh yes it is.

I have seen quite a bit recently where a slave or submissive will answer a question about their dynamic or the lifestyle in general with “well, it’s not my place to say anything/ask for anything”. I find this to be extremely disturbing, especially since I also see in these same places submissives talk about withholding their safe word as a kind of badge of honor and the sentiment that the only responsibility an s-type has once play begins is to obey.

I feel like there is so much to discuss in this that I really do not know where to begin.

I suppose I will begin with where I am coming from.

I am a Dominant. I do switch with my life partner. In the grand scheme of things, however, the path that I am taking in the lifestyle and what I am seeking I see as a Dominant, however, not as a switch or submissive. So when I talk about the attitudes that submissives have I am discussing first and foremost the things that I am concerned about as a Dominant who will in the near future seek out a submissive of my own. I am also discussing it from my own past experience of having been the one to submit and my submissive time in switch play.

I had considered doing one single post where I stand on a soap box and just let loose all of my ideas about submission and what responsibilities that a submissive or s-type has in an M/s or D/s dynamic.

Instead, I am going to break it up into multiple posts where I talk in a little more detail about each aspect that I want.

So, I shall return with my thoughts of Submission and Respect.

One thought on “It Is Not My Place

  1. Pingback: Submission and Respect | On the Scene

Say Something

